Research Databases
When the research just seems to be overwhelming and you don't know where to go for more information, always think of Tiffin-Seneca Public Library.
Below, find a complete listing databases that anyone with a library card has access. And, find a few of our favorites that we think you will love.
If you have any questions about a database or need more information, call the Information Desk or email tiffinlibrary@tiffinsenecalibrary.org.
Happy researching!
Ohio Web Library
Provided to T-SPL by the Ohio Public Library Information Network, the Ohio Web Library is one of the most comprehensive set of databases available.
Subjects include books, art & literature; business & government; employment resources and adult learning; genealogy, health, history & biography; magazines & newspapers; reference & research; science and students & homework.
Book Connections
Book Connections is an easy-to-use online database that strives to enrich the reading experiences of children’s and young adult books. Enjoy over 200,000 resources that empower readers to connect deeply with a book they are reading and gain new insights from authors themselves, which will help cultivate a life-long love of reading. You can also find author interviews, discussion guides, lesson plans, and more to support literacy instruction.
Book Connections
Personalize and enjoy digital connections to books for kids and teens.
Need help from Book Connections? See our support page. 800-596-0710 | accounts@bookconnections.org
TeachingBooks
TeachingBooks provides a curated collection of author and book resources to support literacy instruction and engage readers while nurturing the joy of reading! This popular collection of books read in kindergarten through twelfth grade helps teachers bring reading to life.
TeachingBooks (PreK-12)
One stop provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.
Need help from TeachingBooks? See our support page. 800-596-0710 | accounts@TeachingBooks.net
Check out a Few of Our Favorites
Our librarians have compiled a list of a few that we think you will find very valuable. From science reference materials, to tutorials on how to learn a new language, to gaining access to Chilton's books, we've got it all - and it's free with just your library card.
Ancestry.com gives access to U.S. Census records, military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, petitions for naturalization, passenger lists and more. Please keep in mind that you must be in the Library to access this database.
EBSCO Host provides you access to many other databases in widely ranging topics. This database is perfect for research, including medication information, science reference center, scholarly journals, Points of View information and full texts of American and English literature. Patrons may also access Masterfile, which provides full text magazines; one of the most popular is Consumer Reports.
Culturegrams is for college students and businesspeople to stay up to date. Diverse communities, well-traveled patrons, and major global events have expanded each of our personal worldviews and increased our need for understanding a wide array of cultures. Culturegrams goes beyond basic facts and figures with local perspectives on more than 200 countries and territories, detailing daily life and culture, including history, customs, and lifestyles.
Newspaper Archive: Ohio Edition is the world's largest online newspaper archive. This massive collection of more than seven million newspapers covers Ohio history from 1800 to 2017 and allows you to search for you ancestors by name and location.